A New Beginning

Standard

This has been a long week. I had classes on Monday & Wednesday nights to teach me how to regain my strength,  a therapy treatment on my arm and chest area on Thursday, ending with chemo on Friday.

When I arrived at work on Friday my desk area decorated with crepe paper streamers and a balloon. A gorgeous pink orchid sat in the middle of my desk. Jessi had stayed late after work on Thursday to work her magic. Allison, another co-worker had baked a cake in the shape of a cancer bow decorating it with pink icing. The office staff enjoyed eating her yummy dessert and I couldn’t wipe the smile from my face….one long year of treatment was ending for me. My daughter arrived at 10:30 to whisk me away for my final chemo treatment. I was greeted warmly by the nurses in the chemo suite, given my dose of Herceptin followed by hugs and well wishes as I left. I thought back to that day one year ago when I entered MSTI for my first treatment. What a difference in the emotions that I felt; then and now.

Paige had invited Todd, Kristy and Michael to join us for lunch. I sat at the table with my little family (minus the gradsons) around me enjoying a celebratory lunch reveling in their love and God’s goodness to me. We share a closeness that I wish more families had. We ate and the other three headed off in their own directions and I spent the rest of the day with my girl.

I wanted to go to Whole Foods and walk up and down the aisle to see the many choices of organic food they had and my wish had been granted. I was overwhelmed with the store; almost too many foods to pick from! Paige took me to another stop that I needed to go to then we were off on a shopping marathon. She and I are 2-3 hour maximum shoppers! We were able to find a couple of tops and a swimsuit for me. My children are taking me to the Bahamas later in the year thus the need for a suit. We ended our day with a healthy smoothie. Yum, yum! I drove home and crashed on the sofa sleeping until 7 P.M..

I awoke early this morning. I was planning on walking the Race for the Cure downtown Boise with Kristy and Paige. Paige rang the doorbell shortly after 7 A.M.. She brought me a gift from Michael; Under Armour sports socks complete with the cancer bow on them. Smiling I took off my other footies and placed Michael’s gift upon my feet. We headed out the door.

I confess that I really detest large crowds and I knew I would be surrounded by thousands of people. Although nervous it was something that I wanted to do this year. With your generous donations supporting me, we were able to donate over $1600.00 for Komen Race for the Cure. The last time I checked I was the 2nd highest individual with the most donations. The company I work for; Farm Credit was also in the top five teams contributing to the cause. I walked the 5k race with my sister-in-law (April), my niece and her husband (Sharon and Josh Gerving) and my two daughters (Paige and Kristy). I was so proud and blessed to have my family support me with their presence. We finished the race then Paige and I headed to Blue Sky Bagels for our treat. After each chemo treatment we always treated ourselves to a bagel and it was fitting to finish my year-long treatments and the race with one last bite of goodness. We drove home.  I relaxed on my patio, listening to the trickling water fountain, enjoying the beauty of my tiny courtyard thinking once again how fortunate I am.

Now it is time to put this past year behind me and forge a new beginning. Blessings to each of you who make my life so very special.

photo (15)

 

 

PS These ‘hunka, hunka burnin’ loves’ are NOT part of my new beginnings.

 

 

6 responses »

  1. Nicki. I was there for the walk, but was a weannie and did the ONE mile! I looked for you and couldn’t believe I did not spot you out of the 12000 people there!! I did hear your name mentioned and applauded with my little armies!! I am so proud of you and what a year it was indeed. I have had a few friends from work going through the same thing, but none as strong as you have been. I’m serious. You are the rock of gibralter –
    P.S. Mary & I were also with those HUNKS and I TRIED to make them a new beginning for Mary!
    Love You!!
    Vika

  2. Congratulations on the end of treatments (oh so glad they are done), on making it thru this past year, on walking the 5K today, on the great job you did raising funds to fight breast cancer and fighting SO hard this past year to be here for your “four reasons to fight”! You are loved so very much Nick! Love, M

  3. That is sure a cute picture of you Nicki! I am so glad that you are finally at the end of the course. At least the chemo course…we all know we have another race we are in and if we keep our eyes on Jesus we will finish the course. We love you and agree you have a wonderful family!

  4. Congratulations beautiful. You are such a strong courageous woman that I admired deeply. And where in the world were these hunks, I certainly missed them, darn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

