Coming Home

Standard

Because my mind has been so fuzzy, I asked my kids to be with me when the doctor made his rounds yesterday. More tests results would have been in and we had questions. Their minds are functioning at full speed while mine is in a lower gear. We had spoken with the nurses the day before on the approximate timing of the doctor rounds and we were assured that we would be seen sometime between 7-8 a.m. Paige’s new position at work did not allow her to be there but Todd took time off arriving at my bedside at 6:30 a.m. with a breakfast sandwich in hand for me. Sweet! Around 8 my wonderful nurse, Christina poked her head inside my room. Smiling she said, “It won’t be long now. The doctors are making rounds”. We thanked her and waited and waited and waited. At 10 a.m. she came back into my room and said I had been forgotten on the rounds. My normal oncologist was at a retreat during the weekend and I had been treated by another doctor who floats across the country filling in. A different doctor was making rounds for Dr. Dan on Monday. I looked at Todd who had been with me all morning missing 2 meetings at Micron. I said “I guess I am the red headed stepchild”. The doctor finally came during the lunch hour. His visit was short but he gave the news I could go home. YES! My nurse had been wonderful and faxed my prescriptions down to the pharmacy early so we could swing by on our way out, pick them up and head home. I was beyond excited. However, when we arrived at the pharmacy they had not even started filling it and we waited over 30 minutes. I am sitting in the wheelchair, Todd is standing beside me in the hall with a line full of very sick people, coughing, etc. I had to wear a heavy mask if I went beyond my hospital room. I had left my mask in my room thinking I would no longer need it.  So much for protecting myself from others. At long last my wonderful son finally was able to bring me home. My eyes teared up as we turned north onto Plummer knowing I would soon be in my safe haven. When we opened the door entering the house I could smell a “not so nice” smell. I soon discovered I had left my yogurt bowl in the sink and the garbage had not been emptied since Friday. Gross! I quickly went about opening windows to air the house and took care of the culprits that were causing the odor. It felt so good to be home.

Although home, I am still declining visitors. My body is compromised right now and the best treatment for me is rest. I have enjoyed reading your emails and blog comments. Each one has lifted my spirits. If attitude is half the battle then a strong support group is certainly the other half. Thank you, dear friends. You have been the encouragement I have needed.

6 responses »

  1. As Dorothy said in “The Wizard of Oz”…”there’s no place like home, there’s no place like home!”…and she was so right. Glad you’re home (even if it did need a quick airing out)…get lots of rest and let your body get well. Love you so much, M

  2. Nicki – I have been gone and just saw your posts about ending up in the hosptial. Rats! So glad to hear you are are back home now. Yes, please keep visitors away while your resistance is down…way too many viruses and germs floating around. Hang in there girl. Lots of prayers going out for you. Love Tam

  3. Dearest Auntie Nicki,
    Just as God breathed creation into life, I pray He will breathe rest into your tired body from head to toe so you can claim His promise that He’s got every cell in your body in His hands. Big warm hugs to you, Betsy.

  4. Hi Nicki, you write so well. We felt we were right there when you were going through all the things you did. It is terrible about doctors and pharmacies, how they make you wait and wait.

    We are reading in our Bible in Exodus and how the children of Israel expected immediate deliverance and got mad at God for not doing it right away. I am so glad you can write about things without blaming someone for the problems. You have a beautiful spirit. Keep your eyes on our efficient Lord who always do all things well.

    Please be assured of our prayers and our love and yes you have wonderful children.

    Sen and June

  5. I’m glad you are home and hopefully on the mend. Don’t hesitate to call if you need anything. We are only a short distance away and can easily bring you something.
    PS- You shouldn’t have let your brother off the hook. I was enjoying watching him feel guilty.
    Leah

  6. Hello Nicki,
    I’m new to your blog, but have thought and prayed for you for a long time now. I hope you are able to celebrate the birthdays today and are enjoying home. I am physically close to you at the Star Prudential Office. I know you are not receiving visitors, but if you do need a visit please call me at 880-6630. I have also been following Tom Gasseling’s battle with cancer. My heartfelt concerns go out to both of you. You are strong Nicki, keep your great attitude.
    Lovingly,
    Jan Batt

Leave a Reply

