My first ambulance ride.

Standard

My feet were doing a “happy dance” while I underwent #6 round of chemo. Sad to say, I had to remove my dancing shoes this week. I did not get better with each passing day. With the work week approaching I called the emergency number and was instructed to go to the ER. My sweet neighbor, Holly drove me. What I thought would be a few hours turned into six as she waited with me. Finally, a decision was made to admit me to the downtown St. Luke’s. I was taken by ambulance from the Meridian St. Luke’s to downtown St. Luke’s. Next time (hopefully there won’t be a next time) I will go to the downtown ER and save myself an ambulance ride. Ethan was excited because now his grandma was just like he and Lance. Both of my oldest grandchildren have experienced rides in ambulances. My ambulance attendant was a young woman who had graduated from Parma High in ’94. We had a nice visit on the way. By the time I got to the hospital my kids were all enroute to be with me. I had let them know I was in the ER but I really thought I would be sent home and not be admitted.

I have several issues going on and I have not been told when I will be released. Needless to say I am grateful to be here. However, I am not well enough to receive visitors.

My goal was to feel good enough to celebrate Todd’s birthday on the 14th of September. My kids are always kind and we will move to plan B for a birthday celebration. I also have another birthday celebration on the 22, my great nephew, Jayden’s first birthday. We have not been together since Easter. October brings Ethan, Michael, Paige and Kristy’s birthdays. Families and birthdays; that is what I love. 

In my first blog I spoke about feeling close to God like a mountain top experience or feeling like God is very far away; looking up from the floor of a very dark valley. This illness has tested my faith. I don’t understand how others can go through something like this and not reach out to God. This much I do know; where I am, God is also. Please continue to lift my family in prayer.

10 responses »

  1. Hi Nikki,
    I think of you often and know that you are a strong, brave woman. Don’t let that stop you from relying on all those around you; It’s okay to lean on the shoulders of those who care. You’re in my thoughts and prayers every day. Love and miss you. G

  2. Nicki, I started a message to you and hit something on my computer and it disappeared……..as I was saying…..I am beside myself as I was just talkng to my friend today saying that I was going to visit you this week! She has a friend going to this and I was telling Katherine that unless you have the strength, the enthusiasm, the faith, and the love that my friend Nicki has…your friend will have a long road ahead of her. You are so much in my thoughts and prayers Nicki, please know that and I am here for you. Paige & Todd – you are the stronfest links to your mom so I know that she will pull through this. The bump in the road only means a slight detour to get back on track. I love you Nicki – I will keep in touch
    Vicky

  3. Nicki, our prayers are surrounding you today! We pray for strength when you are weak, He is strong.
    Our love also surrounds you….just melt into it and rest! He holds you in His everlasting arms.
    Love, BARB

  4. Nikki, we are all still praying for you and sending love, hope you can feel it. Get better soon my dearest cuz. We are all pulling for you. And love you more than you can know. Love you baby, Bonnie

  5. Nikki, You are so right. God has promised in His word He will never leave us nor forsake us. And, not only that, you have a great cloud of witnesses who are lifting you up in prayer. Love you lots, Mommie Marcy Emery

  6. Hi Nicki, you are very much in my thoughts and prayers. Lots of love and hugs to you and your wonderful children and grandchildren. Love you and miss you very much! April.

  7. Lovely Nicki, I am holding you in my Heart and my rosaries are for you. Always remember that God is with you and He loves you…you are His child. Always. Ann

  8. good morning Nikki, I pray you have your Jesus Is Calling devotional with you. It is so for you today. God is so good to speak words of encouragement to us just when we need it. I love you,Marcy E.

  9. Nikki, You have been and will continue to be in my prayers! I’m so thankful you have family close by and that God is with you on this journey. Please know that you have many who are praying for you and think of you often. Dorothy (Ontario)

  10. I have been out of communication with you for so long. I am so thankful that I can now talk to you through this site. I am so sorry that you have had to go through so much. You are just a wonderful person and so strong. You are amazing. I emailed Rod on his birthday and told him that I would be happy to help out at the office when I get back home in November if it would help to let you have more time off. I know I don’t know the programs that you use at the front desk; but, maybe help some of the others in their jobs to allow them to help out in the front. I want you to know that I pray for you and your family every day. When I get home and you are up to visitors, I will come and see you. I will look forward to that. I’m so sorry that I haven’t kept in contact. You will make it through this Nicki with all the help of your family and friends and especially all the prayers that are being said for you. I believe in the power of prayer and have seen it work. Love, Bette.

Leave a Reply

