#6

Standard

What a wonderful day. Both of my kids accompanied me to my 6th chemo treatment. They are such a blessing to me and they made me laugh. I want them to attend the meeting with the radiologists as well. They remember the answers to the questions I ask. Sometimes my mind is foggy or I am so busy focusing on the next question I don’t listen closely enough the one is he answering. My adult children are a great source of comfort and I lean on their intelligence and memory. Did I mention they get that from their dad? Smiling here. My goal with this 6th treatment is to feel well enough to celebrate Todd’s birthday on Sept 14. My taste buds will just be starting to return by then but mostly I want to be together with my family. Family is so important to me.

The Taxotere was reduced this treatment to help with the neuropathy in the feet. Hopefully, this will not be permanent damage to my feet but there  is a slight possibility it could be permanent. I am also hoping to save my finger nails. Although 7 nails have pools of blood underneath  perhaps they will just grow out over time and not lift and fall off. I am keeping my focus that way.

If I choose radiation then it will take place between my last “hard chemo” and the starting of the infusion of Herceptin. I am told I will be fatigued with the radiation. The treatment will last 6 -8 weeks 5 days a week. I still have to meet with the radiologist to discuss my options.Please pray that I make the right choice for me.

8 responses »

  1. What a great picture! Soon your hair will look just like Todd’s…maybe a little more “salt and pepper” compared to Todd’s all “pepper”…but hey, it will be hair!!! 🙂

    Good they will be there for the “question and answer” session with rad doc.

    Love you, M

    • Could this day be any better? I am so happy for you Nic and that light at the end of the tunnel…. it is those 4 reasons for fighting shining their flashlights your way…. love you girlfriend!

  2. Glad to hear the news Nick – you look great in your picture too with the kids….what a great inspiration to read your news and as always thank you so much for sharing it all and letting us know how you’re doing. I think of you everyday and will continue to pray for your many decisions that you have to make, to be the right ones. I know you will do fine-Nick-you have more strength and determination than anyone I know.
    Love
    vicky

  3. Nicky, I am so glad you are having some good days. You and I need to get a picture together while we still kind of look alike. You know our two bald heads together before you grow out your beautiful hair. You do have two wonderful childern. I give you credit also for how well they have turned out. You are a strong lady and I know you are going to beat this. I pray for you daily.
    Your friend for ever, Gilbert

  4. Have a good “rest” week and gain more strength — I’ll be thinking of you. Take care and take it easy–see you when I return.

  5. Nicki – I marvel at your wonderful attitude. Family is definitely what it is all about and you have such wonderful support and love. I think of you often and you are in my prayers daily. I hope to see you soon! So glad you see that light at the end of the tunnel and thank you for sharing your thoughts and time with all of us.

  6. Nicki,
    Theresa Scaggs just sent me this blog site. I am not very good at all the technology, but I think I can at least send you a message. I read many of your blogs and am always amazed at how God gives us the strength to make it through the battles of this life. I am also amazed at those who have to go through these things without the Lord. Please know that we have been praying for you since we heard the news about your cancer. As Jesus told His disciples “In this world we will have troubles, but take heart for I have overcome the world.” He loves you and has promised to never leave you or forsake you. He has given you the final victory no matter what happens in this life. I will continue to pray and do my best to keep up on your progress. God Bless and Keep You.
    Jeff Lundy

Leave a Reply

