No Chemo

Standard

No chemo today. I did not sleep well last night and woke at 2 a.m. I continued to stay in bed until 4 a.m. then chose to get up. I fix myself a part of an English muffin with a small glass of milk and push down the steroid pills that must be taken the day before, day of and day after chemo. I wait another two hours and administer the morning regiment of 5 pills, wait until 8 a.m. to take the final two. I dollop a quarter size of numbing crème on my port covering it with Press and Seal plastic wrap and wait for Kristy. My beautiful daughter in law arrives at 9 a.m. to take me to MSTI for blood work and treatment. The blood is extracted through my port. It is taken for examination and I see the oncologist nurse practitioner for consultation. I am a little anemic. Also, I am dealing with the other issue I battled during week two of the first chemo and still on the medication for it. I am advised to wait one more week to see if that resolves itself. I am also slightly dehydrated. I had been hydrating nicely but I was not as diligent when I was at work. A bag of fluid was administered instead of chemo. I must make a conscious effort to drink more fluids at work. So my four hour chemo infusion did not take place. We left early. I have mixed emotions.

We are on schedule however, to shave my head on Saturday. I now have a bald spot on the left side of my head. I did a comb over to hide it but masses of hair clung to the comb instead. It is time to lose the brittle stuff and I am as emotionally prepared as I can be (sigh).

I share this funny story about Todd’s youngest son, Lance. On the last day of school, Lance’s teacher stopped Kristy in the hall stating she needed to share something Lance has said. As all mothers are wont to feel, Kristy was worried about what her son had said. Evidently it was Lance’s turn to read or share with his class. Lance gets up to the front of the room and states, “My grandma has cancer and had to have her BRAS cut off!” I laughed so hard. It is amazing what comes out of the mouths of babes. First he called my breasts; MY THINGS and now he calls them my BRAS. I think we need a lesson in anatomy. Smiling here.

 

One response »

  1. Part of you breathes a sigh of relief that you don’t have to have the treatment…that you get a few more days of feeling better…can’t call it normal…just feeling “better”. The other part of you says “darn, I just want to get this over with and this postpones it for a week”. But chemo and how our bodies are able to handle it are not an exact science. So I have an idea for you to get enough hydration at work…and here it is. http://www.amazon.com/Multi-Sport-Hydration-Bladder-Capacity/dp/B004SUVVYW Not sure just how much work you will get done, but hey, you’ll stay hydrated! I’ve always got a plan…may not be a good plan, but if you don’t like Plan A…let me know…I’ll come up with Plan B!

    Hey, I think you should all be thankful that Lance called them “bras”…it could have been so much worse! That’s a good way to describe them for a first grader! 🙂

    Take some relaxing time and enjoy your weekend. Love ya, M

Leave a Reply

