Meet Dr. Dan

Standard

Yesterday Todd, Kristy, Paige and I met with the oncologist, Dr. Dan Zuckerman. He is a smart, young doctor; about the same age as my son. Both of my neighbors, Ron and Don go to Dr. Dan and hold him in high regard. I have requested him for my doctor as well. His father, Dr. Norman Zuckerman was my husband’s oncologist years ago. I ask if he gives neighborhood discounts and he laughs. He examines my wounds, notices I still have one grenade hanging at my side and that the port-a-cath is already in place for the chemo treatments. He talks of the regiment that he has planned for me; the drugs he will administer, how I may feel and react to all of it. Both Paige and I try to take notes while he is talking but it all gets away from me. She does better than I do. The plan is 18 weeks of chemo; 6 treatments of chemo given three weeks apart followed by Herceptin given once a week for a year. Radiation if necessary may follow.

The first chemo treatment is scheduled for May 11, 2012 and there are still tests to be done. Friday morning I will undergo a CT scan, an Echo-cardiogram as well as a bone scan. We are in MISTI for almost two hours meeting with the doctor and scheduling my tests.  I am tired by the time we leave. We stopped by the office where I work to pick up a gorgeous arrangement one of our customers had brought to me. The thoughtfulness brings tears to my eyes. I missed my “happy nappy”  but crash in the recliner once I am home. I tire easily in the afternoon. However, I am much better in the morning. Today was sobering and I think to myself; I hope people who promised to pray are not giving me “lip service” because I am relying upon their prayers to help get me through this next year or so. I believe; not one prayer goes unheard by the God I love and serve.

Nicki

9 responses »

    • Prayers will keep coming long after you think you need them. Blessing to you and yours. You rest when you need to and just keep your smile in your heart if you can’t get in on your face.
      Love as always to you and your family!
      Cindy and Dennis Jorde

  1. Dear sweet Nicki, our prayers will not only be with you but, they are now, more than once each day. Remember God’s promise to you in Hebrews 13:5, I will never leave you nor forsake you. Much love, Marcy E.

  2. It was May 1, 1981 for my first treatment. I pray that May 11, 2043 you’ll look back and tell your great grandchildren “it was 31 years ago today that I had my first treatment”. Lots of prayers for this to come true. Love you, M

    • Prayers continue to go out for you. My friend who is fighting ovarian cancer made it through her chemo and came out the other side with all of her former energy. She has resumed her normal activities, yard work, horseback riding, etc, and says she feels “normal” again except for sore muscles because she is out of shape. She, like you, always had a great attitude and fighting spirit. She has a lot of prayers and support and so do you. Hang tough girl!

  3. Strong, heartfelt prayers continue from me and Jim and I have a couple of breast cancer survivor friends that I have also asked to pray. More angels than you know are very busy on your behalf . . .

  4. Niki: Dr. Norman Zuckerman is Dicks Dr. He has been our saving grace this past 3 years. He is so remarkable. We have never met his son Dan but heard that he is wonderful too. We were told at the beginning of our Journey that we had one of the BEST DR.’S in the Valley.. And we heard over and over that people would say,” If you think the Dad is brilliant the son is tooooo. It has given Dick and I peace knowing that God has guided the medical team at MSTI through all of these Chemo treatments that Dick has taken..
    Chemo for Dick every other Monday downtown.. I hope to see you and if we can help please let us know..

    Prayers your way..
    God Bless You
    Dick and Rhonda Butson

  5. With the prayers of all your friends and such good doctors—you are in good hands! We’ll remember you constantly in our prayers and thoughts!

    Kem and Lois Marshall

  6. GOD IS GOOD… HE WILL TAKE GOOD CARE OF YOU. AND YOU COULDN’T BE IN A BETTER HOSPITAL WITH THE BEST STAFF..DICK AND I HAVE BEEN GOING THERE 3 YEARS AND THE DR’S ARE GREAT AND THE GIRLS IN CHEMO,,,,OH THEY ARE GREAT….PAT,DENISE, JACKIE AND I COULD GO ON AND ON…I WILL BE THINKING OF YOU…GOD PLEASE WATCH OVER NIKI DURING HER FIRST DAY WITH CHEMO….

Leave a Reply

