More Good News

Standard

My neighbor, Carole picked me up and drove me to my follow-up appointment with the surgeon yesterday.  Todd and Kristy met me there. The wounds look good and Dr. Getz is pleased with my progress.  He looks a little puzzled when I ask, “When can I get off the pain pills?” He answers,”Probably another 2-3 weeks.”  Now I am the one with the puzzled look. The orders were; take 2 pain pills every 6 hours but I take 1 pill every 4 hours instead. I did seek the doctor’s approval first. This week I tried to stretch the pain medicine to every five hours. The doctor asked how that went for me. I laugh saying, “Not so good. “ He reminds me that my chest was laid open, both breasts and a cluster of lymph nodes removed. In other words, I had major, major surgery. I explain that I have never had anything done like this and I don’t know what is normal. I am normal. The drain tube that now hangs at my waist accompanied me home from the doctor’s office. I was really hoping to lose my “constant companion” but that did not happen. The tissue on my right side is absorbing all of the fluid that once drained into hand grenade #1 and #2. Therefore, there is swelling on the right side of my body. It is uncomfortable. There is a large pocket of fluid under my left arm and thus the reason for not removing grenade #3.

I awoke at 5:30 A.M. this morning, turned on my music, opened up the windows and sat down to read my devotional. I believe this book was written just for me (I have said that before so insert smiley face here). Here is what I read today:

“Welcome problems as perspective-lifters. My children tend to sleepwalk through their days until they bump into an obstacle that stymies them. If you encounter a problem with no immediate solution, your response to that situation will take you either up or down. You can lash out at the difficulty, resenting it and feeling sorry for yourself. This will take you down into a pit of self-pity. Alternatively, the problem can be a ladder, enabling you to climb up and see your life from My perspective. Viewed from above, the obstacle that frustrated you is only a light and momentary trouble. Once your perspective has been heightened, you can look away from the problem altogether. Turn toward Me, and see the Light of My Presence shining upon you.”

What more can I say?

Nicki

One response »

  1. Good Morning Nicki:

    A beautiful rainy morning…bright greens against the dark sky. My prayers are with you and as every drop of rain falls your healing continues and I am quite certain that God has appointed you Queen of anything and everything you might want to be Queen of…you are so lovely.
    Today my prayers are for the right side of your body…Blessings to you my friend.
    Truly, Ann

Leave a Reply

