Home and Resting

Standard

Mom is home and resting now.  She is in good spirits (as one would expect from my mom).  Just before I left today, I was able to help her put on some very good looking compression socks (extreme sarcasm).  She has certain exercises that she has to do several times per day–movements that most of us take for granted like lifting our arms above our head or to the side.  No doubt, she’s a trooper.  We’ll go back for a post-op visit in a few weeks.

In the meantime, we’ve learned the value of Facetime (video chatting), as her two youngest reasons for fighting are a little too rambunctious to visit her yet.  Today Maxton and Carter were able to Facetime with her.  Maxton sang her the Easter song he made up, and Carter blew her kisses.

Again, forgive us for not answering every phone call, text message, e-mail, etc.  We are overwhelmed by your compassion. Thank you for all of your love and support.  They are the words that help get us through the day.  On the day of her surgery, there were 303 site visits to the blog–so we know she is loved!

11 responses »

  1. Yes, she is loved. We like your comments,Paige. This is a hard job for you and your/Nickie’s family–God is blessing Nickie with you to do the caring at this time. Praising God!

  2. Paige, Thank you for keeping us posted…your mom is a very special lady and a real fighter…..we are all praying for her complete recovery.

  3. Hope her pain meds are working…especially when she has to do those exercises! Great that she can see the boys and vice versa…keeps the family all in touch…even the youngest members. We all love her…she’s an easy person to love. Give her our best…she’s on our minds and in our hearts all the time. Love, Margaret and Ron

  4. Glad to hear the surgery went well and I’m not at all surprised she’s in good spirits. She has such a gentle heart and a strong spirit. She’ll be up and around in no time at all, doing what she loves most….spending time with her family. You’re all in my thoughts and prayers. Love, Geneva

  5. Wow, so glad to hear that she is doing well. Thank you so much for the posts and updates! Such a great way for us to check on your mom and let her know we care without being intrusive or catching her at an inopportune time. This she can read when it works for her. Your posts are your answers to texts, calls, and emails, so no forgiveness needed. Give your mom a gentle hug from me and tell her I am thinking of her and praying for her to have a speedy recovery from the surgery.

  6. Dang, guess I haven’t figure this out yet as I see my name did not show up again. The message was from Tammy Holloway over in the Ontario Farm Credit office.

  7. Thank you, Paige, for updating all of us. I’ve been so impressed with Auntie Nicki’s strength, optimism, and closeness to the Lord through this very difficult time. We are praying for continued wisdom and strength for Auntie Nicki and all of you; and eradication of the cancer. I have a young friend who went through this as well, and I know she’d verify that the arm exercises are essential.

    Cousin Grace in Foster City, CA

  8. Have been thinking about Nicki and the family. I am glad to hear she is home and doing well. Such a wonderful woman you are Nicki. Love to you and your family. Joey

    • We’ve been thinking about Aunt Nicki, and are glad to hear she’s doing well. She’s always been there for us, and we’re keeping her in our thoughts and prayers. Thanks for keeping us up to date Paige! Love the pictures of the kids!

      Cindy & Mike

  9. That is such good news!! Like Judy Garland said, “There’s no place like home!” Especially after surgery. Thanks for keeping all of us on the loop, and let Nicki know if the weather warms, we would be happy to come and water the garden!

  10. Want you know, I think about you everyday Nicki. I think grandma does too. The night before your surgery I was looking out the window, thinking about what was to come the next day and saying lots of prayers for you. I noticed a dove sitting on my fence by itself looking at me. The next morning, driving down the road, a dove decided to go (in the same direction!) in front of me. I said, “Okay, Okay, I’ll tell her”. Yesterday I also found a penny, heads up on the garage floor. I know you are in her prayers too.

Leave a Reply

