The Post You’ve Been Waiting For. . . All Day

Standard

 

Mom is doing well after surgery.  The doctor said there were no surprises.

A role has shifted for my mother today.  She is used to being a caregiver–to her children, grandchildren, family, and friends.  Her new role (or should I say responsibility) will be to focus on her recovery.

Thank you for your prayers and messages.  We will continue to keep you informed through this blog.  And keep posting comments–my mother loves and appreciates your words of encouragement.  This way she can read them as she finds time and energy.

For now she will rest.  I’m sure the minute she’s up to it, she’ll write another post of her own (and request that I remove the above picture).

17 responses »

  1. Duane really appreciated your input when he was in charge of the Worship Committee at Sterry. We prayed for successful surgery and continue to pray for your speedy recovery.

  2. So happy to see that smile! We have been thinking and praying all day, so glad to hear everything went well on this first part of your journey. There are many more blessings headed your way. Our love, The Ching Fam

  3. Good to see your picture…and with 2 of your reasons to fight right there with you. Don’t you dare make Paige delete the pic…you look great! Brings joy to my heart to see you. 🙂

  4. Nicki –
    Your picture says it all, and I love that you have two of your grandsons by your side. You are such a fighter, and I am SO HAPPY to hear that it went well. I have been thinking about you and praying for you all day today. I cannot wait for you to get home so that I can bring you supper or just come down and just hang out in your new garden. And, once you are feeling up to it, we can make some cards!! Just think about it, a Sully’s burger will be delivered to you, whenever you are up for it!! :o) I’m drooling just thinking about it! ;o)
    You rest up now, my dear, and ENJOY all of the attention and pampering you are receiving. You are loved, and doesn’t it feel wonderful that you are surrounded by people who love and care about you so much.

    Love & very gentle hugs,
    Holly

    PS I was going to wait until you got home to tell you this, but I can’t hold it in any longer!!!!
    You are my new IDOL (yes, Oprah, move over, NICKI is here now!!). I’ve always looked up to you, and for some time now, I’ve wanted to be just like you, but honey, you’ve REALLY stepped up your game this time, and I admire you even more than ever watching your courageous fight.
    You said that you brought your bat, and Nicki, you’ve hit a home run this time, knocking that stinking cancer out of the park, and out of your body, and you are on your way to a full recovery. You are healed! 🙂 I can’t wait to see your smiling face in person. :o)

  5. We are so happy to see you with two of your precious grandsons….have been thinking about you all day. Thank you Paige for posting.

  6. Nicki-I was trying to be one step ahead and stopped by the hospital on my way to work to see you today and give you hugs-but you had not arrived yet. you look great in your picture with the boys -thank you Paige for being so considerate in writing right away because I was anxious to hear how Nicki was doing. You climbed a big hill today Nicki-recovery is right around the corner.
    Love
    Vicky

  7. God is so good! Blessings are coming your way and protection will keep coming too! Love to all of you! Love Cindy

  8. Great to see that she came thru surgery well and that the kids and grankids were there by her side when she woke up. She has a long road ahead but she is a fighter and we are all here with prayers and strong wills to stand behind her as well on her journey! love to all!

  9. I am so glad to see this picture of you and your boys! Nicki you look great! I know you will have a speedy recovery because you are a fighter. Many prayers are with you in your battle–take care and I’ll see you soon my friend!

  10. Niki: we continue to pray for you.. Nothing like FAMILY to make you feel better… Hope your recovery is fast.. Thanks for the Text…you are on my mind during these trying times.. God Bless You… God is GREAT…

  11. So glad you have the surgery behind you so you’re on the road to recovery! My prayers are with you daily. Add me to your list of people to call when you’re up to it. Your friend, Bren

  12. That bat you took into surgery with you seems to have been pretty effective 🙂 I see two of your little angels by your side in the picture above, and I so appreciate your daughter keeping us all up to date. Keep your focus on all you have to fight for Nicki and let the energy from Him flow through your veins and make you strong. Onward, upward – one step at a time, one moment after another and with each new day this will become part of a healing and hope-fulfilled story to help others!

  13. Nicki, I’m sure it felt good to be at home from “spa St. Luke’s”. I have been exactly where you are now 7 years ago. Please know that I am just around the corner – please call if you have moments when you need to vent or whatever. I can be there in 5 minutes (2 and a half if I run but THAT isn’t pretty) Call 286-0048. Marilyn

  14. I have been thinking so much about you as i came home from the er yesterday. My illness seems so small compared to what you are going thru yet i am so sick. So sorry you have to go thru this and wishing i was there with you as you have always been for me.i love you auntie and will come by soon.

Leave a Reply

