Blessings

Standard

Someone I work with recently gave me a beautiful purple leather bound journal. She said, “I don’t know if you journal or not but it has helped me when I go through difficult times.” I have written in journals in the past.  I remembered a time when I went to pick up my taxes at the accountant’s office. A young woman who worked there began to share a little of her personal life with me. She wasn’t where she thought she would be at that time in her life. She was a single woman and wanted someone to share her life with. She lamented that she was not the kind to go to the bars and didn’t know how to meet someone. We talked. I left the office that day then decided I would buy her a journal. I wrote the first page in her journal and asked her to write down three things each day that she was thankful for. I encouraged her to continue to pray and share her hearts’ desire with God. I thought of this woman from time to time. I cannot recall whether it was a call or a card that I got from her a year or so later; she shared the news that she had met someone and was getting married.  My purple journal will be my blessing journal.  I want to record things in my life that God has blessed me with and He has blessed me mightily over the years. Yesterday’s blessing was a beautiful yellow daffodil; the first one blooming in my yard. Today’s blessing; HE HAS RISEN! Happy Easter.

Nicki

8 responses »

  1. Nicki: We read that you and your family are needing special prayers as you enter this new battle and you have ours. We love your blog and will keep in touch that way. We now live in Walla Walla WA but do get Sterry news. We love you and your family. Thankfully, you know that Jesus is putting His arms around you! We do not expect a response from you, we just pray.

  2. Nicki,
    You and your blog are really becoming a blessing to me. I feel that I am getting to know you better and can benefit from your wisdom and strength.
    God’s Peace,
    Ingrid

  3. What a neat idea, Nicki. This is something we all should do. Each day focusing on our blessings. We all have so many. My first one for today, that God brought you into my life when you were a young girl. What a wonderful blessing you have been. Love, Marcy E.

  4. As I read this, I recalled the day I met you and how uplifting our conversation had been – I have not forgotten and never will. It is not often a stranger becomes a friend and in just the blink of an eye. You just have a gift, Nicki – or is it that you are indeed an angel among us whose mission now is to show others how to overcome an illness with prayer and lots of love? I think you’re an angel. Strength and blessings to you, dear friend.

  5. 4/12/12 Nicki
    I wanted to let you know that my prayers are wirh you today and everyday as you get ready for your hospital visit tomorrow – keep your strength up and I’ll come to visit you in a few days. I know the minute the staff there meet you, they will know how special you are and will give you all the TLC you need for a quick recovery!!
    love
    Vicky Pilayo

  6. Nicki, Nicki…tomorrow the 1st day of physically healing your beautiful body. I pray for the surgeon and his crew and pray for your family and I pray for you…I have a most favorite red-haired guardian angel and I am sending her to you and your family tomorrow to flutter about all of you sprinkling calm blessings of love and hope, smiles and laughter, hope and bliss. Please ask your family to post a comment if possible following your prodecure…

    with love and prayers…tomorrow’s noon mass will be said for you!

    Ann

  7. Nicki,
    Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family as you embark on this journey. Best wishes for a quick and full recovery.
    Wishing you well,
    Nathan, Kristi and Hadlee Brown

Leave a Reply

